International porphyria centres

We have a printable list of international porphyria centres.

The information on this page is provided by Orphan Europe. We thank them for their permission to use this information here.

Porphyria centres in UK and Ireland are given on the Expert Contacts page.

*Laboratories with a star are listed on the European Porphyria Initiative (EPI) website www.porphyria-europe.org.   EPI has set up a network of specialist porphyria laboratories in which there is collaboration and a quality assurance scheme.  These laboratories are able to distinguish, using biochemical testing, between all types of porphyria and are able to offer specialist detailed interpretation of results with clinical advice on management.

Worldwide centres specialising in porphyria

ARGENTINA

AUSTRALIA

AUSTRIA

BELGIUM

BRASIL

CZECH REP.

DENMARK

FINLAND

FRANCE

GERMANY

HUNGARY

IRELAND

ISRAEL

ITALY

NETHERLANDS

NEW ZEALAND

NORWAY

POLAND

S. AFRICA

SPAIN

SWEDEN

SWITZERLAND

U.K.

U.S.A.

CENTRES SPECIALISING IN PORPHYRIA


ARGENTINA
Buenos Aires
CONICET-Hospital de Clinicas. UBA
Av. Córdoba 2351. C.A.B.A.
Dra. Alcira Batlle
batlle@fibertel.com.ar
Dra. Maria Victoria Rossetti
rossetti@qb.fcen.uba.ar
Dra. Victoria Estela Parera
vicky@qb.fcen.uba.ar
Tel : (+54) 11 5950 8346 or 7

Hospital General de Agudos
“José María Ramos Mejía”
Gral. Urquiza 609 – C.A.B.A.
Dr. Hector Muramatsu – MD
hmura29@hotmail.com
Tel : (+54) 11 4127 0200 or 0300
www.ramosmejia.org.ar
Return to top of page


AUSTRALIA
Camperdown
*
NSW Porphyria Reference Laboratory
Dept Clinical Biochemistry
Royal Prince Alfred Hospital
Missenden Road, Camperdown
A/Prof. Peter Stewart
Dr. Victor Poulos
victor.poulos@sswahs.nsw.gov.au
Tel : (+61) 2 9515 8572 (direct)
or (+61) 2 9515 6111 (main switch)
Return to top of page


AUSTRIA
Graz
Medizinische Universität Graz
Klinische Abteilung für
Gastroenterologie und Hepatologie
Auenbruggerplatz 15
A.o. Univ. Prof. Dr. Thomas Hinterleitner
thomas.hinterleitner@meduni-graz.at
Tel : (+43) 316 385 3350
Return to top of page


BELGIUM
Brussels*
Erasme University Hospital
Dr. Axelles Gilles
and Dr. Ph. Frédéric Cotton
fcotton@ulb.ac.be
Tel : (+32) 2 555 33 36

Leuven*
Gasthuisberg University Hospital
Pr. David Cassiman and Dr. W. Goossens
David.Cassiman@med.kuleuven.be
Tel : (+32) 16 345 845
Return to top of page


BRASIL
Sao Paulo
Neurogenetics Unit.
Department of Neurology
School of Medicine of Ribeirao Preto
University of Sao Paulo
Charles Marques Lourenco, MD
marqueslou@usp.br
charlesgenetica@gmail.com
Tel : (+55) 16 36022616
Mob : (+55) 16 91769054
Return to top of page


CZECH REPUBLIC
Prague*
Laboratory of Porphyria metabolism
1st Medical Faculty Charles University
U Nemocnice 2
Dr. Pavel Martasek
pmartasek@hotmail.com
Tel : (+420) 2249 104 78

Return to top of page


DENMARK
Odense
Odense Universitets Hospital
Endocrinologisk Afd M
Dr. Ole Hother-Nielsen
ole.hother-nielsen@ouh.regionsyddanmark.dk
Tel : (+45) 6541 1604
or (+45) 6541 1607

Viborg*
Regionshospitalet Viborg
Klinisk Biokemisk Afdeling
Heibergs Allé 4
Dr. Axel Brock
axel.brock@viborg.rm.dk
Tel : (+45) 8927 2042
Return to top of page


FINLAND
Helsinki*
University Central Hospital of Helsinki
Dept. of Medicine
Dr. Raili Kauppinen
raili.kauppinen@hus.fi
Tel : (+358) 94711
Return to top of page


FRANCE
Paris*
Centre Français des Porphyries
Hôpital Louis Mourier
92700 Colombes
Prof. JC. Deybach, Prof. H. Puy
jc.deybach@wanadoo.fr
Tel : (+33) 01 47 60 63 34
www.porphyrie.net
Return to top of page


GERMANY
Berlin
Charité Universitätsklinik Berlin
Campus Benjamin Franklin
Gastroenterologie
Hindenburgdamm 30
Prof. Dr. med. Rajan Somasundaram
rajan.somasundaram@charite.de
Tel : (+49) 30 8445 0 (Zentrale)
Tel : (+49) 30 8445 4017

Bonn
Universitätsklinikum Bonn
Spezielle Internistische Intensivmedizin
Wilhelmstrasse 35-37
OA Dr. med. Peter Walger
walger@uni-bonn.de
Tel : (+49) 228 287 0 (Zentrale)

Chemnitz*
Klinikum Chemnitz
Med. Klinik II
Flemmingstrasse 2
Prof. Dr. med. Ulrich Stoelzel
dr.stoelzel@porphyrie.de
Tel : (+49) 371 33 33 32 32
Emergency calls Mo- Fr and, also
weekend and public holidays :
Tel : (+49) 371 33 33 35 91

Dresden*
Krankenhaus Friedrichstadt
Innere Klinik III
Friedrichstrasse 41
Dr. Sven Wollschläger
wollschlaeger-sv@khdf.de
Tel : (+49) 351 480 1138 or 1139

Düsseldorf*
Universitätsklinikum Düsseldorf
Klinik für Gastroenterologie
Hepatologie und Infektiologie
Moorenstrasse 5
Dr. Alexis Michael Müller-Marbach
alexismichael.mueller-marbach@med.uni-duesseldorf.de
Tel : (+49) 0211 811 0 (Zentrale)
Tel : (+49) 0221 811 7849

Karlsruhe (Only diagnostics)*
Kriegsstrasse 99
Dr. rer. nat. Thomas Stauch
Labor. Prof. Dr. med. H. Seelig
stauch@laborseelig.de
Tel : (+49) 721 85 000 165

Karlsruhe
Städt. Klinikum Karlsruhe gGmbH
Klinik für Anästhesie
und Intensivmedizin
Moltkestrasse 90
Prof. Dr. med. F. Kehl
anaesthesie@klinikum-karlsruhe.de
Tel : (+49) 721 974 1601

München*
Hämatologisch/Onkologisch
Schwerpunktpraxis München
Zweibrückenstrasse 2
Prof. Dr. med. Petro E. Petrides
petrides@onkologiemuenchen.de
Tel : (+49) 89 229009 or 21 668780

Rostock
Universitätsklinik für Innere Medizin
Abteilung Endokrinologie
und Stoffwechselkrankheiten
Ernst-Heydemann-strasse 6
Prof. Dr. med. Rainer Hampel
rainer.hampel@med.uni-rostock.de
Tel : (+49) 381 494 7520
Return to top of page


HUNGARY
Budapest*
MAV-Kórház
Podmaniczky utca 111-119
Károly Oreskovich M.D.
oreskovich@t-online.hu
Tel : (+36) 1 4752634
Return to top of page


IRELAND
Dublin*
St. James’s Hospital
Biochemistry Department
Central Pathology Laboratory
Dublin 8
Dr. Vivion Crowley
Tel : (+353) 1 416 2935
or (+353) 1 410 3000
Return to top of page


ISRAEL
Petah-Tikva*
Rabin Medical Center
Beilinson Hospital
National Laboratory for the Biochemical
Diagnoses of Porphyrias
Prof. Nili Schoenfeld
nschoenfeld@clalit.org.il
Tel : (+972) 3 937 7710
Return to top of page


ITALY
Modena*
Dipartimento di Specialità Mediche
Divisione Medica II Policlinico
Via del Pozzo 71
41100 Modena
Dr. Paolo Ventura
paoloven@unimore.it
Tel : (+39) 059 422 2265 or 2151

Milano*
Dipartimento di Medicina Interna
IRCCS Fondaz
Policlinico Mangiagalli e Regina Elena
Via Sforza 35
20122 Milano
Prof.ssa Domenica Cappellini
maria.cappellini@unimi.it
Tel : (+39) 02 55033 639 or 493
or (+39) 347 7885455

Roma*
Centro per le Porfirie
Istituti Fisioterapici Ospitalieri
Via Chianesi 53 – 00128 Roma
Dr. Gianfranco Biolcati
biolcati@ifo.it
Tel : (+39) 06 5266 6928 or 2024

Reparto Nefrologia e Dialisi
IRCCS Casa Sollievo Sofferenza
Viale Cappuccini
71013 S. Giovanni Rotondo (FG)
Dr. Claudio Guida
claudiocarmine.guida@tin.it
Tel : (+39) 08 8241 0293
Return to top of page


NETHERLANDS
Rotterdam*
Erasmus MC University Hospital
Dr. François Karstens MD
and Dr. Janneke Langendonk MD
Consultants : Tel : (+31) 10 70 40704
Dr. Felix de Rooij PhD
f.derooij@erasmusmc.nl
Laboratory : Tel : (+31) 10 7035457

Maastricht
Department of Dermatology
Maastricht University Medical Center (MUMC)
P. Debyelaan 25
6229 HX Maastricht
Prof. Dr. Jorge Frank
j.frank@mumc.nl
Tel : (+31) 43 3877292
Return to top of page


NEW ZEALAND
Canterbury*
Porphyria centre
Canterbury Health Laboratories
PO Box 151
Hagley Avenue – Christchurch
Prof. Chris Florkowski
chris.florkowski@cdhb.govt.nz
Tel : (+64) 3 364 0300 ext 89570
Return to top of page


NORWAY
Bergen*
Nasjonalt kompetansesenter for
porfyrisykdommer (NAPOS)
Haukeland Universitetssykehus
Prof. Sverre Sandberg
porfyri@helse-bergen.no
Tel : (+47) 55 97 31 70
www.napos.no
Return to top of page


POLAND
Warszawa*
Instytut Hematologii i Transfuzjologii
Poradnia dla Chorych na Porfiriê i
cz³onków ich Rodzin
02-766 Warszawa, ul. Indirii Gandhi 14
Dr. Robert Wasilewski
rwasilewski@ihit.waw.pl
Tel : (+48) 0 22 349 61 32 (Outpatient)
Tel : (+48) 0 22 349 61 53 (Hospital Clinic)

Diagnostic/Laboratory Department
Instytut Hematologii i Transfuzjologii
Pracownia Porfirii
00-957 Warszawa, ul.Chocimska 5
Mgr. Agnieszka Lipniacka
alipniacka@ihit.waw.pl
porfiria@ihit.waw.pl
Tel : (+48) 0 22 849 36 51
or (+48) 0 22 849 85 06
Return to top of page


S. AFRICA
Cape Town*
Lennox Eales Porphyria Unit
Depts. of Medicine
and Medical Biochemistry
University of Cape Town Medical School
Observatory 7925
Prof. Peter Meissner
peter.meissner@uct.ac.za
www.uct.ac.za/depts/porphyria
Tel : (+27) 021 406 63 32 or 62 06

Durban
Division of Medicine
Nelson Mandela School of Medicine
University of Kwazulu-Natal Medical
School
Umbilo Rd, Durban 4075
Prof. Richard Hift
hift@ukzn.ac.za
www. uct.ac.za/depts/porphyria
Tel : (+27) 031 260 44 58 or 42 16
Return to top of page


SPAIN
Barcelona*
Hospital Clinic
Dra. Carmen Herrero
cherrero@clinic.ub.es
Dr. Jordi To
jto@clinic.ub.es
Tel : (+34) 932 275 400, ext 2422, 2221
www.hospitalclinic.org

Madrid*
Laboratorio de Porfirias
Centro de Investigación
Hospital Universitario 12 de Octubre
Carretera de Andalucia Km. 5,4
Prof. Rafael Enríquez de Salamanca
salamanca@med.ucm.es
Tel : (+34) 91 390 84 11
Return to top of page


SWEDEN
Stockholm*
Karolinska University Hospital
Pauline Harper MD, PHD
pauline.harper@karolinska.se
porfyricentrum@karolinska.se
www.karolinska.se/porfyri
Tel : (+46) 858 582 780 or 87
Return to top of page


SWITZERLAND
Zürich*
Stadtspital Triemli Zürich
Porphyrie-Referenzlabor
Birmensdorferstrasse 497
Prof. Elisabeth Minder
elisabeth.minder@triemli.stzh.ch
Tel : (+41) 44 466 23 20
Return to top of page


UK
See the Expert Contacts page


USA
Galveston, Texas
Porphyria Center
University of Texas Medical Branch
301 University Boulevard
Galveston, TX 77555-1109
Karl E. Anderson, MD, Director
Csilla Hallberg, MD, Coordinator
porphyria.center@utmb.edu
Tel : (+1) 409 772 4661